17:21 Season 2 Episode 7

The Unza beauty pageant was fast approaching. Michael had a poem ready. He decided to perform a song as well. With no idea of the song he wanted to do, he went to see his high school friend, Lukundo, who owned a studio named Duncan Sound Studios.

         “My brother, what’s good bruh,” Lukundo embraced Michael.

         “I missed you man, no homo,” Michael said with a smile on his face.

         “What brings you here?” Lukundo quizzed.

         “I gotta get something done for the Unza gig bruh. What you got for me?” Michael asked.

         “I have the perfect piano beat for you. You ready to go?” Lukundo asked, a bit reluctantly.

         “I was born ready,” Michael spoke and a grin swept his face. The instrumental was played, Michael immediately liked it.

         “You got some lyrics to go with it?” Lukundo asked. Michael hastily agreed and rushed into the booth.

         “With enthusiasm and energy, from the top,” Lukundo’s voice echoed through the headsets. However, what followed was a disaster, a calamity, a disastrous calamity. Well, not all of it. After doing the chorus, a flood of problems arose.

         “I don’t feel like you are vibing with the song. There’s no passion, there’s no emotion,” Lukundo spoke after cutting Michael off. Michael then sub-consciously replied in a whisper.

         “That nigga dead,” and then chuckled.

         “What was that,” Lukundo asked and then giggled. He then continued.

         “My advice is come back when you start feeling the song.”

         Feeling dejected, Michael left Lukundo’s house. It was fast approaching sunset. He just managed to navigate a corner that left Lukundo’s studio out of site when he saw Alice. This was fate, he thought to himself. The script wrote itself. It all made sense. He wasn’t vibing with the song because it wasn’t about her. He decided to follow her and completely neglect his way home. He jogged a bit awkwardly and caught up with her and almost startled her.

         “Let me catch my breath first,” he spoke while she regained herself.

         “Sorry, I did that to you. Isn’t home that way or you are going to see a special someone,” Michael pointed the opposite direction and then winked.

         “I’m on night duty. I don’t know why I’m explaining myself to you” She shrugged him off and continued walking. He paced himself and caught up with her again.

         “So you remember me. Then why didn’t you reply to my texts,” Michael questioned Alice.

         “I…I…I have been busy… with… with work.” Deep down she didn’t want to talk to him. He reminded her of what she couldn’t have, Nico. She hated Michael. Hate is a rather strong word. She resented him. She despised him. Michael could sense that she was lying. But at this point, he was in too deep. Alice could do no wrong. And what of the random guy she could have kissed, his mind asked him. What random guy, his mind also replied. He then smiled. Alice could really do no wrong. She was staring at him all this time, a little bemused.

         “Can I walk you to work,” Michael asked.

         “Do I have a choice? You don’t have to,” She continued realizing that she didn’t want Nico to see this random guy walking with her. Michael was just staring at Alice. He was in awe. He couldn’t quite describe how he felt. This was uncharted territory, not the hospital but what he was feeling. They exchanged pleasantries and parted ways. The little time he saw her was enough. The song was already done. On his way back to the studio, he kept recording lyrics on his phone.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close